362. Theme 12 ~Antique~

This is one of the wooden escalators at Macy’s New York. They date back to the store’s opening in 1902 and are believed to be the only still-operating, wooden escalators in NYC.  They are VERY cool!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shadowsandhighlights.wordpress.com/2009/12/28/362-theme-12-antique/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Very cool.

    I’ve ridden on those long ago as a kid. My cousins would take me to see Santa at Macy’s every year.

    Thanks.

  2. How cool is that!

  3. What a great piece of history you managed to capture so fabulously! I agree w/ Val, this has been a fun year and I have really enjoyed your blog! 🙂

  4. Oh my–that brings back memories of being taken to Macy’s to see the decorations as Christmas when I was a very little girl and we lived in Manhattan. About four years gao, we brought our younger daughter and one of her friends there and we rode them. I hadn’t thought they were still there. Thanks!

  5. I’ve never seen a wooden escalator. This is beautiful!

    Congrats on making it through the challenge! Only 3 more photos to go! I’ve really enjoyed following your blog all year. Thanks for sharing your wonderful images.


Leave a Reply

