341. My Own Theme 37 ~Page 17~

One of the writers wrote a poem entitled “Going Over the George Washington Bridge” so they decided to put my photo and her poem together on page 17 of the folio.  My other photos are scattered throughout the catalogue but there aren’t any others with poetry.

Here’s the rest of the poem by Pamela Malone:

Where you can pretend

to be somebody

I actually had lunch

with an agent

who was interested in me

for awhile

I drank champagne in the Plaza

Persian Room, surrounded

by gold and bubbling fountains

Once we laid out our wares

You and I

on the sidewalk

in front of Cooper Union

Then someone yelled

“The cops are coming!”

and we scooped our scarves

and jewelry into bags

laughing hilariously together

as we ran

The laughter lingers still

though you are gone

But the city remains

waiting for me

Every time I go over the

George Washington Bridge

Published in: on December 7, 2009 at 6:00 AM  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shadowsandhighlights.wordpress.com/2009/12/07/341-my-own-theme-37-page-17/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Congrats, how do you find these opportunities or do they find you?


Leave a Reply

