264. My Own Theme 9 ~RIP Part Deux~

My Own Theme 8 ~RIP Part Deux~

Click photo to enlarge

Published in: on September 21, 2009 at 6:00 AM  Comments (10)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shadowsandhighlights.wordpress.com/2009/09/21/264-my-own-theme-8-rip-part-deux/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. A beautufully sad shot, I thought it was a kid’s toy on top of the stone.

  2. Okay. Here’s the question. I asked DH and he didn’t know either. The child that lies here was Albert – Bertie his nick name. Okay? Then at the top of the stone, under the horse, is written: “Bertie’s Jim Horse”.

    Am I dense? I don’t understand. Is there something I am missing?

    Great shot of a tombstone. Like the treatment.

    • I was wondering about that too Iona. After your question, I found out that Jim was a horse who was used to produce serum containing antibodies against diphtheria. Here’s the Wiki page entry http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jim_(horse). I’m guessing that diphtheria caused Bertie’s death. When I first saw the grave, I was both amazed and heartsick by the sad, untold story. Here’s a photo of the real Jim. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:JimHorse.jpg.png

  3. There are always such interesting stories to be found in cemeteries. An emotional photo…

  4. Great photograph, but such a sad, sad story.

  5. Oh, that is SO sad. I had to enlarge it to see what it was about, and now I’ve got tears in my eyes.

  6. I just looked at all of the photographs I’ve missed. They are awesome!! My favorite without a doubt is “Yadda, Yadda, Yadda”!!

  7. A really interesting (and sad) grave! Ditto on treatment.

  8. So young, so sad a fitting tribute by them and by you!

  9. Beautiful processing and treatment of this image!


Leave a Reply

