4. Theme 91 ~Fairs or Amusement Parks~ ~Palisades Amusement Park~

EDIT: Click HERE for the original TV commercial from the 1960’s for Palisades Amusement Park! (You have to be signed into Facebook as that’s where it is.)

I totally forgot I had this poster.  Hadn’t thought about it in years!  Anyone remember?   “Last night I took a walk in the dark… A swingin’ place called Palisades Park….To have some fun and see what I could see……”  Freddie ‘Boom Boom’ Cannon???  Palisades Amusement Park was such a big part of life for everyone that lived in the area.  In the summer you could always find your friends there, either working or playing or just hanging out.  When it closed, it was truly the end of an era.  Oh, and they had the BEST french fries in the whole world (click HERE for the recipe!) and it really was built on the top of the cliffs!   The park opened in 1898 and closed in 1971.  I’d say that was a pretty good run!  Click  HERE  if you’d like some fascinating information about the Park.Palisades Amusement Park

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shadowsandhighlights.wordpress.com/2009/01/04/4-theme-91-fairs-or-amusement-parks/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve always loved that song! You’re so lucky to have that great poster!!! What a cool shot!

  2. I remember the song and the park ads on the radio. Alas, I never got to go.

    Nice photo and excellent interpretation of the theme.

  3. I remember Palisades Amusement Park! We used to go there on field trips from Staten Island (where I grew up.)

  4. Thanks for passing this one along Mad. I hope you’ve gone to the website at http://www.palisadespark.com There is so much more there about the park including the radio jingles we heard thousands of times over the years. I’ll bet you remember the words as soon as the music starts.

  5. I had completely forgotten about Freddie Cannon. And that looks like American Bandstand, too. Thanks for the walk down memory lane, Madelaine.

  6. What a fun poster. Love the colors!!

  7. OMG! Palisades! Haven’t thought about that place in years! Thank’s for bringing back the memories!

  8. I’ve heard the song, but didn’t realize it was an actual park. I’m learning lots of new things during this challenge! Great shot for the theme using your colourful poster!

  9. Love the colors and the vintage feeling. Nice job!

  10. Very cool poster – love the vivid colors (and of course, the .10 entrance fee)! Enjoyed the history behind the poster as well. Good job!

  11. I never went to Palisades, but enjoyed your nostalgic post along with the link to more information about the park. It was fun to read what happened to the rides after the park closed. And your shot of the poster is fantastic! Very vivid and alive…

    Wouldn’t it be nice to get into an amusement park for 10 cents nowadays?

  12. great poster, it should be of great value now. I never had the chance to go there, I missed a part of history. Your photo is clear colorful.


Leave a Reply

